Republic of Ecuador
Flag Coat of arms
Motto: "Dios, patria y libertad"  (Spanish)
"Pro Deo, Patria et Libertate"  (Latin)
"God, homeland and liberty"
Anthem: Salve, Oh Patria  (Spanish)
We Salute You, Our Homeland

Location of Ecuador

Capital Quito
00°9′S 78°21′W / -0.15, -78.35
Largest city Guayaquil
Official languages Spanish
Demonym Ecuadorian, Ecuadorean
Government Presidential republic
 -  President Rafael Correa
 -  Vice President Lenín Moreno
 -  from Spain May 24, 1822 
 -  from Gran Colombia May 13, 1830 
 -  Total 256,370 km² (73rd)
98,985 sq mi 
 -  Water (%) 8.8
 -  2007 estimate 13,755,680 (65th)
 -  Density 53.8/km² (147th)
139.4/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2006 estimate
 -  Total $61.7 billion (70th)
 -  Per capita $4,776 (111th)
Gini  42 (medium
HDI (2007) 0.772 (medium) (89th)
Currency U.S. dollar2 (USD)
Time zone ECT, GALT (UTC-5, -6)
Internet TLD .ec
Calling code +593
1 Quichua and other Amerindian languages spoken by indigenous communities.
2 Sucre until 2000, followed by the U.S. dollar and Ecuadorian centavo coins

Ecuador (IPA: /ˈɛkwədɔər/), officially the Republic of Ecuador (Spanish: República del Ecuador Spanish pronunciation: [reˈpuβlika ðel ekwaˈðoɾ]), literally, "Republic of the equator") is a representative democratic republic in South America, bordered by Colombia on the north, by Peru on the east and south, and by the Pacific Ocean to the west. It is one of only two countries in South America (with Chile) that does not have a border with Brazil. The country also includes the Galápagos Islands in the Pacific, about 965 kilometers (600 miles) west of the mainland. Ecuador straddles the equator, from which it takes its name, and has an area of 256,371 square kilometers (98,985 mi²). Its capital city is Quito; its largest city is Guayaquil.